In Cold Blood- Final Outcome

9780241300305_InColdBlood_COV.inddMock up

Here is my final outcome- I thought it would be a nice idea to use the traditional font used in the very first book covers but a more contemporary style, I think this works really well as it keeps to the identity of the original book cover.

The judges were looking for a competently executed design with strong use of typography which I think my design has with a strong use of hierarchy. I think the use of red really stands out from the black as well a light textured background to give it that extra detail. I have used the famous photographs of Capote and Smith to show what he saw when documenting the murders. This can be interperated in a few different ways. One way is that he see’s himself in Smith and that’s why he felt so attached to him. Another way of looking at it is that he see’s an opportunity to create a masterpiece with Smith as his key component. I’ll let the the reader decide.

Leave a Reply

